50 basic Arabic phrases

As part of residents’ guide we have a handy list of 50 Arabic phrases you should know.

dubai ring

Hello 
Marhaba

How are you?
Kaeef halak

Good morning
Sabah el khair

Good evening
Massa el khair

Greetings
TaHiat

Goodbye
MaAa es-salama

Excuse me
MaAzera

Sorry
Asef

Please
MinFadlak

Stop
Tawaqaf

Thank you
Shukran-Lak

Yes/No
NaAm/La

I don’t Know
LaaAref

Who?/What?
Maza/Man

Where?/Why?
Ayna/Lemaza

How much?
Kam ath-thaman

How much does it cost?
Kam et-taklefa

How many?
Kam al Aadad

Do you speak English?
hal TaTaKalam alanglizia

I don’t speak arabic
ana La ataKalam El Aarabya

What is your name?

ma iSmaK

Nice to meet you
sarertu Lemuqabalatek

My name is…
ismii…

How do I get to?
Kaeef yomKanany El Hosool ala?

Where is…?
Ayna

Is this the way to..?
Hal haza howa et-tareeq ela?

Can I drive here?
Hal yomkanany El qayada hona

I Think I’m lost
Annee mafqood

Is it safe/dangerous?
Hal howa aamen/khatar

Where can I buy…?
Ayna yomkanany shera?

Help!
mosaAda

I need a doctor
aHtaj ela Tabib

I have a fever
Aendee Huma

It hurts
Enahu Moalem

The pain is here
Al alam huna

Where is the bathroom?
Ayna Al Hamam

Do you have a phone?
Hal Ladika hatef

Where is the hospital?
Ayna Al mustashfaa

My car has broke down
Sayaratee TaAtalat

Where is the nearest garage/petrol station
Ayna aqrab Karaj/maHatet banseen

Where is the nearest cash machine?
Ayna aqrab Saraf aalee

I need water/food Can you take me to…?
aHtaj ela myah wa TaAam hal TastatiaA An TaaKhoznee Le

My friend is hurt or sick
sadeeqee moTaab/mareed

Leave a comment